Ohio State Navbar


W. Fred Miser, MD

Professor of Family Medicine
Director, Ohio State Family Medicine Residency Program

OSU Family Medicine at Thomas Rardin
Northwood-High Building
2231 N. High Street
Columbus, Ohio 43201
Phone: (614) 293-0669
Fax: (614) 293-2717

Professional Interests
I graduated from Wheaton College (Illinois) in 1979 and from The Ohio State University College of Medicine in 1982. Having received military scholarships to attend both college and medical school, I entered the Army and completed my family medicine residency at the Eisenhower Army Medical Center (Augusta Georgia) in 1985. I then spent a career in the military with tours at Ft. Sill, Oklahoma, Madigan Army Medical Center near Tacoma, Washington where I completed a two-year Faculty Development Fellowship and obtained a Masters of Arts in Social Sciences from the University of Washington and Pacific Lutheran University, Tripler Army Medical Center, Hawaii where I was residency director, and then back to Madigan Army Medical Center where I was the director of the faculty development fellowship, and completed a one-year Teaching Scholars Program at the University of Washington. I retired from the US Army as a Lieutenant Colonel in 1997.

I joined The Ohio State University Department of Family Medicine in May 1999, first as the residency director, and then as a clinical researcher. Due to my love for teaching and working with residents, I resumed the position of residency director in 2009. I have received numerous awards for teaching and research, including the 2012 Ohio Academy of Family Physician’s Educator of the Year, the 2013 American Academy of Family Physician’s Exemplary Teaching Award, Full-Time Faculty, the 2014 Association of Family Medicine Residency Director’s Gold Program Director Recognition Award, the 2014 OSU College of Medicine “Courage to Teach” Award and Distinguished Educator Award. In 2017 I was given the OSU Alumni Faculty Teaching Award. I have annually been named one of America’s Best Doctors since 2007. I am a tenured Professor of Family Medicine, and President Elect for the Association of Family Medicine Residency Directors.