Ohio State Navbar

Dr. Linda Stone 2017 Governor's Award Recipient

We are thrilled to announce and offer sincere congratulations to Dr. Linda Stone, as she has been selected to receive the 2017 Governor’s Award for the Arts for Community Development and Participation.The release below, provided by the Ohio Academy of Family Physicians Weekly Communication, describes her tremendous achievements leading to her selection.

Dr. Linda Stone Receives Governor’s Award for the Arts in Ohio

Ohio Academy of Family Physicians Past President Linda C. Stone, MD, was recently selected for one of the 2017 Governor’s Awards for the Arts in Ohio for Community Development & Participation. She will be honored on Wednesday, May 17, at a luncheon at the Columbus Athenaeum.

Dr. Stone is a wife, mother, grandmother, family physician, medical educator, and retired associate dean for student affairs at The Ohio State University (OSU) College of Medicine, Columbus, OH. She currently volunteers as special assistant to the dean for humanism and professionalism. As a family physician, Dr. Stone served patients in Columbus for 25 years. Upon retirement, she founded the OSU College of Medicine’s Humanism in Medicine program, including the Medicine and the Arts Series and the Humanism in Medicine Student Section (including the Professional School Orchestra; Ultrasound Choir; the Writer’s, Photography, Visual Arts, and Theatre/Film & Arts groups; and Dance in Medicine).

Dr. Stone was selected by the Class of 2004 as the OSU College of Medicine Professor of the Year and was designated a Local Legend by the American Medical Women’s Association in 2005. She has received numerous teaching awards including the Lifetime Achievement Award from the OSU College of Medicine in 2009. The College of Medicine created the Linda C. Stone Award in Mentoring in 2011. She has also received the OSU College of Medicine’s Alumni Achievement Award and the Alumni Service Award. The Ohio State University Alumni Association honored Dr. Stone in 2014 with the Josephine Sitterle Failer Award for her work in humanism and professionalism. In 2016, the American Medical Association honored her contributions to the medical humanities with the Isaac Hayes, MD, and the John Bell, MD, Award for Leadership in Medical Ethics and Professionalism.